How to Get Your Minnesota Real Estate License in 8 Steps
Real estate licenses are issued in each state by its Department of Real Estate or Division of Real Estate, depending on the nomenclature of the state. Each state has its own licensure requirements, which usually include some combination of education and experience. However, there are always exceptions to these rules, so always check with your state’s Department of Real Estate website to find out exactly what you need to do to get your real estate license. This article will give you an overview of how to get your Minnesota real estate license in eight steps
1) Decide if you really want to become a real estate agent
If you’re thinking about becoming a real estate agent, you probably have a lot of questions. Is it the right career for you How much money can you make What are the requirements to get started The good news is that it’s easy to learn how to become a real estate agent in Minnesota! You don’t need any prior experience or any special training; all you need is the right motivation and an understanding of the licensing process. Here’s what you need to do 1) Read over the state laws and regulations Take a look at your state’s page on becoming a licensed real estate agent. Laws vary from state to state, so it’s important to know what your rights and responsibilities will be as an agent before signing up for classes. Once you have read through the pages, talk with someone who has been licensed before so they can give you their insight on whether this profession is really something you want to pursue.
2) Buy a textbook on the state exam
In order to get your real estate license in the state of Minnesota, you will need to pass the state exam. The best way to prepare for this exam is to purchase a textbook that covers all of the material that will be on the test. Here are seven steps to follow in order to get your Minnesota real estate license
- Choose a textbook that covers all of the topics on the state exam.
- Study each topic thoroughly.
- Take practice exams until you feel confident that you will pass the state exam.
- Register for the state exam and pay the required fee.
- Schedule a time to take the exam at an approved testing center.
3) Study sample questions and take practice exams
The first step is to study sample questions and take practice exams. This will help you get a feel for the types of questions that will be on the test, and it will also help you identify any areas that you need to focus on. Don’t just stop at taking one practice exam, though. Make sure you keep studying until you feel confident that you know the material inside and out. When you’re ready, register for your state licensing exam and make plans to visit the testing center ahead of time so that there are no surprises on exam day.
4) Register for an exam preparation course (4 hours of online study)
You can’t get your real estate license without passing the state exam, so it’s important to sign up for a course that will help you prepare. Make sure to find a course that offers 4 hours of online study, as this is the minimum required by the state of Minnesota. Once you’ve registered for the course, you’ll be able to access the materials and start studying right away.
- The first step is to find an exam prep course that meets your needs. There are many different courses available, so take some time to research your options.
- Once you’ve found a course, register for it and pay the associated fee.
- After you’ve registered, you’ll be able to access the course materials and start studying right away.
5) Take the state exam
To get your real estate license in Minnesota, you’ll need to take and pass the state exam. The exam is administered by Pearson VUE and consists of two parts a national portion and a state-specific portion. You must pass both portions with a score of 75% or higher to receive your license.
The first step is to register with Pearson VUE. You can do this online or by calling customer service. Once you’re registered, you’ll need to pay the exam fee of $115. Then, you can schedule your exam date and time.
On the day of your exam, be sure to bring two forms of identification with you, such as a driver’s license or passport.
6) Apply for your license once you pass the state exam
You’ve studied hard and finally passed the state exam. Congrats! The next step is to apply for your license with the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Here’s how to do it
- Gather the required documents. You’ll need proof of identity, age, and legal status in the United States, as well as a Social Security number.
- Fill out the application form completely and accurately.
- Include the application fee of $75.
- Submit your fingerprints for a background check.
- Complete an approved real estate education program if you haven’t already done so.
- Pass an ethics exam administered by the state of Minnesota.
7) Complete 30 required hours of pre-licensing education
- Research the requirements. In order to get your real estate license in Minnesota, you must be at least 18 years old and have completed high school or equivalent. You must also complete 30 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved provider.
- Choose an approved pre-licensing education provider. There are many approved providers of pre-licensing education, so take some time to research your options and choose the one that best meets your needs.
- Register for and complete the required courses. Once you’ve chosen a provider, you’ll need to register for the courses and complete them within a certain timeframe (usually six months).
- Pass the state exam.
8) Keep up with continuing education every year after you get your license.
You must complete continuing education (CE) every year to keep your real estate license active in Minnesota. The amount of CE you need to complete each year depends on the type of license you have
-Salesperson must complete 24 hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics
-Broker must complete 30 hours of CE, including 3 hours of ethics
-Community Association Manager must complete 12 hours of CE
Here are the steps you need to take to complete your CE and renew your license
- Choose a course provider. You can find a list of approved course providers on the Department of Commerce website.
- Register for courses and pay any associated fees.
- Complete the courses.